Ah Tsui
Fu Kwong
Lai Ying
Yuk Kun
Wan Ying
Father & Son (Part 1)
Father & Son (Part 2)
Ah Hing

Ms. Samantha Wong

“She (Samantha) always comes visit me, talks to me, or bring me to restaurant. I like her visiting me, everyone looks down on me, but she never did! Isn’t that great?”

Ah Hing told me and my professor back then in the park, her words still touches me today. I never realize, a simple respect outweighs all the services and plans we made for her. And her whole life, seems to be an endless journey of seeking respect from others.

Ah Hing, a very slender looking lady, was 5-feet tall, but weight only 80 pounds. She always tripped herself while walking.

Thus, when we first got to know her, we thought her wounds were caused by tripping over. Only later we learned that she intentionally wounded herself. It might sound weird, right? You may ask, “Why would one wound herself? Would she not rather stay pretty?” Sure she wished to be pretty, for numerous time, she framed her face with her hands and said, “ I’m disfigured! It’s scary, isn’t it! Thus everyone’s scared of me! Miss Wong, please help me? Please help me kill those worms!” Owing to the side effect of drug abuse, she had illusions that worms were all over her body, inside her and even on her face. She thought, by wounding herself, those worms would come out, and no longer stay within her.

However, worms were not the only thing she wanted to kill. She would die to swipe out those memories and experiences, where she was looked down at.

When Ah Hing was young, she was a sweet looking girl with many suitors. Marriage and kids should have brought her good life. Yet, not getting along with her mother-in-law, insulting words and husband’s misunderstanding became main reasons of the marriage’s failure. Mentioning of her mother-in-law, she always asked, “Why doesn’t she like me?” Home was no longer where she belongs as she did not feel loved, needed nor respected. Thus, she wished to be needed by her sister.

Ah Hing’s sister and her husband were both drug abusers. Ah Hing tried all she could to convince them to stop. Yet, in the end, she decided to try drug with her sister. She thought this could give her sister motivation to quit abusing drugs, however, it turned out she was hooked on, and becoming slave of drugs. I believe, in the following days, it was also the way she used to escape from her pain.

Although, she might feel the whole world neglected her, yet in 1987, God arranged her reunion with her Uncle, Uncle Tam who walked her through the last part of her life, even when she was in jail, wandering on the street, let her stay at his place, took her to doctors, bought her stuff with his own limited amount of CSSA, even when scolded, he never talked back. Uncle Tam was always there for her till the end of her life.

I asked Uncle Tam, “Why would you still take care of her even she brings you all the troubles. You don’t have to go this far for her?” He answered with tears, “Both me and her are the only one left in the family. That year, my sister died because of cancer, I’ve been an orphan and making living on my own hands. If I ignore her, who would have cared for her?” Looking at the white-headed Uncle Tam, he resembled Ah Hing. She, wished to find her value with convincing her sister; He, wanted to help Ah Hing to compensate his lonely childhood. Somehow, those who gave hands always gave with their own will in mind. It is however not an easy job, at the end of the day, one would realize nothing could be done and will only be overwhelmed by more helplessness and hopelessness.

Ah Hing, like she said, was considered a trouble by most who knew her. I always picked her up by the park as the government ordered us to leave as soon as possible and cause no more trouble. If I took her to restaurant, we might get into awkward situations when she misbehaved, such as spitting or venting. Sometimes, I just wished to leave her alone and walk away as if I didn’t know her. But in her world, she found herself deserve no love – broken marriage, family passed away before her, due to her appearance, not much would like to talk to her. We always tried to help her set recovery plans, and wished she would cooperate, so to live a life of normal person.

There’s once, I ran out of idea and brought my psychological professor with me to visit her, hoping to figuring something out to help her. My professor asked her, “Would you want to live the rest of your life like this in the park?” Surprisingly, she answered, “Isn’t that great?” She pointed at me, and continued, ““She always comes visit me, talks to me, or bring me to restaurant. I like her visiting me, everyone looks down on me, but she never did! Isn’t that great?”

Ah Hing, I never know you would feel satisfied with only that little. Did that mean you finally found that one who respect you? Did you finally realize, there are two people that would complain you being a trouble, yet always be there for you?

Morning, 26 Dec, 2010, a weak voice came through the phone, “Miss Wong, Ah Hing died!”

“What?”

“Ah Hing’s dead, on the 24th.” it took Uncle Tam much effort to repeat.

“Why would you not tell me earlier?”

“……”

Not bidding Ah Hing farewell, not seeing her for one last time, became one of my regret.

However, I wish you well, and would meet that Father in heaven, who never look down on you, always loving and respect you, and will help cure you from the “Worms”.

回头浪子
生命斗士
爱中重塑
恕途同恩
「娘家」妇女
父与子(上)
父与子(下)
阿卿

王文贤传道

「她常常来睇我,来探我,与我倾偈,又带我去饮茶。我很喜欢她来探我,每个人都看不起我,但她没有!这样不好吗?」

当天亚卿在公园里向我和教授说的话,今天仍然深深触动我的心,原来一切的服务,一切为她所订下的复康计划,都不及带给她生命的一份尊重。而她的一生,仿佛就是在不断地追寻着别人对自己的尊重。

亚卿,外表非常瘦弱的女士,五呎身高,但却只有八十磅,走起路来常常跌倒。故此,认识她的初期,总以为她面上的伤痕是跌倒而弄伤的。后来才发现,是她刻意抓损。听起来,有点奇怪,是不是?你或许会问:「好端端,为何要抓损,她不爱美吗?」她当然爱美,不知多少次,她总是抚着脸儿问:「我毁容啦!很可怕!是不是?大家都怕了我!王姑娘,你帮我呀?你帮我「杜」了面上的虫呀! 」只是长期滥药,结果令她幻觉自己面上长满了虫,很多的虫在她体内游走,甚至走上脸部,她误以为不断抓损,虫子便可以爬出来,希望虫子永远不能留在她体内。


然而,她渴望剔除的,何止是她体内的虫,更是她过往被人卑视的眼光、经历。


年轻时的亚卿,样子甜美,很多的追求者。结婚生子,养儿育女,理应为她带来幸福的生活。可惜,婆媳间的吵架,言语上彼此的伤害,加上丈夫的不谅解,造成她与丈夫婚姻破裂的其中一个主要原因。提起家婆,她总是问:「为什么她不喜欢我?」家,不再成为她依恋的地方,因为她感觉不到被爱,被需要,更加找不到尊重。于是,她希望能从妹妹身上找到被需要的肯定。


亚卿的妹妹与妹夫都染上毒瘾,她尝试用尽一切方法劝他们去戒毒。结果,在她觉得无计可施下,她选择了与妹妹一起吸毒,本想借此令妹妹因为自己的缘故,决心戒毒。不幸地毒品令她不能自拔,成为它的奴隶。我相信,随后的日子,这亦是她选择逃避自己内心痛苦的一个途径。


虽然,在她的感受中,觉得全世界都不重视她。然而,神却让她在1987年,重遇见她的远亲----谭叔叔。这位叔叔成为陪伴她走过人生最后阶段的人,无论是当她入狱、流浪街头,收留她住在自己的家,陪她去睇医生,睇精神科,将自己的综援金给她买东西,被她喝骂,仍然不还口,直至到她临离开世界前一刻,谭叔叔就是一直对她不离不弃的人。


我曾问谭叔叔:「她给你带来这么多的麻烦,为什么你仍然这么照顾她。你实在没有需要这样照顾她吧?!」他只是含着泪回应:「因为我与她都是死剩种,那一年她妹妹患癌去世,同年母亲又因老人病离世。我自己都是孤儿,一直都是靠自己生活。我不理她,还有谁理她呢?」望着一头白发的谭叔叔,我仿佛又见到亚卿的影子。她,渴望透过劝导妹妹,找到自己的价值、用处;他,就想透过帮助亚卿,弥补自己孤单的童年。原来,助人者往往都带着自己的期望去帮助人。然而,这是吃力不讨好的,因为到最后,会发现什么也做不到,换来的只是对自己更感到无助和无望。


亚卿,的确如她所说,大部份认识她的人都会觉得她是一个麻烦的包袱,我常常都会接到公园、政府部门的要求,希望我们能尽快叫她离开公园,不要再滋事。与她去饮茶,也常因她的奇怪行为,如吐口水,发脾气,令我和谭叔叔异常尴尬,有时甚至真的想扮作不认识她,放下她走了。而在她的世界里,她觉得自己是不可爱的,有一段失败的婚姻,家人比她更早离世,因她的容貌,亦不太多人愿意接近她。我常常都与她订立复康计划,希望她能配合,以致能成为一个生活稍为正常的人。


有一次,我实在没有什么方法,结果找来我的心理学教授去探她,希望能得到一些方法去帮她。教授问她:「你是否想以后都在公园生活呀?你是否想一生就此而过呢?」谁知她竟然回答:「这样不好吗?」她指一指我:「她常常来睇我,来探我,与我倾偈。我很喜欢她来探我,又带我去饮茶。每个人都看不起我,但她没有!这样不好吗?」


亚卿,原来这么少的事,已经能让你满足。这是否意味着你终于找到了人对你的尊重?是否你终于发现了在世上有两个人,虽然有时嫌你烦,但仍然会与你同行?


2010年12月26日早上,电话另一边传来微弱的声音:「王姑娘,亚卿死左呀!」「吓?什么?」谭叔叔勉强地说多一次:「亚卿死左呀,24号死左呀!」「为何不早点告诉我?」「……」未能见她最后一面,未能与你道别,成了我心里的遗憾。


然而,我祝福你,能在天上遇见那位真正从来都没有看不起你、尊重你,对你满有慈爱,并且能将你一生的「虫子」完全灭除的天父爸爸。